Come on Spring!


I need Spring to arrive and I mean soon.  This long winter is getting to me and getting to my head.  My VFR hasn’t left the garage since the Wednesday before Thanksgiving and it’s looking like it might be Easter before the weather breaks.  3-4 days of 40 degree weather and a good rain to wash all the salt and crap off the road might get me out sooner though.

Yesterday I got so mad during a 5th and 6th grade girls basketball game that I kicked a sports drink bottle across the gym floor and stormed off to our “locker room” before the game  was over.  Yes, 5th and 6th grade girls…  Yes, the referees really were that bad, but that’s no excuse.  At that age it really should be all about the girls learning and having a good time playing a game that I love.  My girls are learning and improving every week, and they’re a great group of girls so I should be satisfied, indeed happy with the way this year has gone.  Unfortunately we’ve only won one game, though we’ve been close in each of the last 4, and I want so badly for these girls to taste victory that I lost focus on what really matters at this age – fun, and me being a better example than that as their coach.  So now I get to swallow my pride and go grovel to the referees I yelled at, the other coaches and league officials I offended, and probably the other parents who were there and don’t really know me well enough to know that was outside of my normal character.

What does that have to do with Spring weather and motorcycles?  Everything.

Leave a comment